2002-2003 Grants for Educational Events

UC SAREP awards educational grants to individuals and organizations to conduct workshops, field days, and other instructional events related to sustainable agriculture. For the 2002-2003 cycle, SAREP is awarding a total of $36,500 to support 22 educational programs. SAREP collaborated with the University of California Statewide Integrated Pest Management Project (UC IPM) to fund six of the grants. In addition, SAREP is funding nine programs in the community development/community food systems area, and seven grants related to sustainable crop and livestock systems. For more information about a particular event call the telephone number or write to the email address listed below.

Integrated Pest Management (funding through uc ipm)

  • Nick Frey, Sonoma County Grape Growers Association, $1,500. "Sonoma County IPM Field Day." (707) 206-0603, frey@scgga.org
  • Stacy Carlsen, Marin County Dept. of Agriculture, $6,000. "Landscape IPM for School IPM Coordinators, Maintenance Directors, and Groundkeepers: A Series of Four Workshops." (415) 499-6700, marin.dept.ag@co.marin.ca.us
  • Sor Lo, Butte County Hmong Cultural Center, $1,500. "Outreach and Education to Hmong Farmers in the North Valley." (530) 879-3563, econolo@aol.com
  • Linda Desai, Placer Nature Center, $1,500. "How To Be Weed Free." (530) 878-6053, lindad@pltpnc.org
  • Maclay Burt, Association of Natural Bio-control Producers, $1,500. "Building for Balance." (714) 544-8295, execdir@anbp.org
  • Jill Klein, Association of Applied Insect Ecologists, $3,000. "AAIE Educational Events." (707) 265-9349, jillklein@sbcglobal.net

Sustainable Crop and Livestock Systems (funding through uc sarep)

  • Sarah Potenza, Ecological Farming Association, $1,300. "Sustainable Dairy Panel Series." (831) 763-2111
  • Jeff Mitchell, UC Davis Vegetable Crops, Kearney Ag Center, $2,000. "Conservation Tillage 2002 Workshops." [Source funds: Western Region SARE Professional Development Program.]
  • Adina Merenlender, UC Hopland Research and Extension Center, $1,300. "Vineyards in Hardwood Rangeland Watersheds." (707) 744-1270, adina@nature.berkeley.edu
  • Kevin McEnnis, Community Alliance with Family Farmers, $1,300. "Cover Crops and Soils Educational Events." (707) 579-3973, kmcennis@yahoo.com
  • Morgan Doran, UC Cooperative Extension Solano County, $1,300. "Solar Power for Improving Water Distribution and Rangeland Utilization." (707) 435-2459
  • Aziz Baameur, UC Cooperative Extension Santa Clara County, $1,300. "Alternatives in Crop Management Tools & New Crop Opportunities for Small Farms." (408) 299-2635, Azbaameur@ucdavis.edu
  • Deborah Giraud, UC Cooperative Extension Humboldt County, $1,300. "Soil Fertility Management for Organic Crop Production." (707) 445-7351, ddgiraud@ucdavis.edu

Connections Between Farmers, Consumers, And Communities In Sustainable Food And Agricultural Systems (funding through uc sarep)

  • Mary Kimball, FARMS Leadership Program, $1,300. "The FARMS Leadership Program Field Days." (530) 795-1520, kimball@quicknet.com
  • Barbara Reed, UC Cooperative Extension Glenn County, $1,300 . "Artisan Cheese Production Workshop - A Look At Vertical Integration." (530) 865-1107, bareed@ucdavis.edu
  • Steve Schwartz, California FarmLink, $1,300. "Business Planning and Innovative Financing Strategies to Promote Intergenerational Farm Transitions (Ventura/Santa Barbara)." (707) 829-1691, info@californiafarmlink.org
  • Lydia Schlosser, Farm to School Connection, $1,300. "Davis Farm to School Connection: Lessons Learned from 2000-2003." (530) 758-5200, shredmama@aol.com
  • Holly George, UC Cooperative Extension Plumas-Sierra counties, $1,300. "Agritourism and Nature Tourism Workshop." (530) 283-6270, hageorge@ucdavis.edu
  • Dr. Gail Goodyear, UC Cooperative Extension Trinity-Shasta, $1,300 . "Effective Garden-based Nutrition Education." (530) 628-5495, gegoodyear@ucdavis.edu
  • Tina Poles, Sonoma County Farm Bureau, $1,300. "School Garden and Farm to School Symposium." (707) 874-1557 x 202, tina@oaec.org
  • Dr. Sandra Wallenstein, Marin Food Systems Project, $1,300. "Creating a Vibrant Local Food System in Marin: Linking Educators with Farmers." (415) 485-4908, eecofmarin@aol.com
  • Ellen Rilla, UC Cooperative Extension Marin County, $1,300 . "Grown in Marin Speaker Series." (415) 499-4204, erilla@ucdavis.edu