2001-2002 Grants for Educational Events

UC SAREP awards educational grants to individuals and organizations to conduct workshops, field days, and other instructional events related to sustainable agriculture. For the 2001-2002 cycle, SAREP is awarding a total of $19,920 to support 17 events. For the first time, SAREP collaborated with the University of California Statewide Integrated Pest Management Project (UC IPM) to fund three of the educational events. In addition, SAREP is funding seven grants/events in the community development/community food systems area, and the non-profit International Tree Crops Institute is funding three grants (seven events) related to agroforestry.

Integrated Pest Management (funding through UC IPM)

  • Bruce Badzik, National Park Service, $1,500. "Urban Rodent Summit." Date: March 2002. Location: Fort Baker, Marin County. (415)561-4831, Bruce_a._badzik@nps.gov

  • David Chang, Santa Barbara County Agricultural Commissioner's Office, $900. "Noxious Weeds Workshop." Date/Location: TBA. (805) 681-5600, Dchang@co.santa-barbara.ca.us

Community Development / Community Food Systems (funding through UC SAREP)

  • Bob Roan, PlacerGROWN, $1,500. "PlacerGROWN Farm Conference." Date: February 3, 2002. Location: Lincoln, CA. (916) 823-7385

    (916) 823-7385
  • Christina Carpenter, $1,500. Sustainable Sonoma County, "Sonoma County Food System/Farm-to-School Coalition Building 2001." Date: September 2001. Location: TBA.  (707) 824-9791, Sustain@sonic.net

  • Robin Crown, Area Agency on Aging Serving Napa and Solano, $1,500. "A Community Forum: Framing the Future of Nutrition & Meal Delivery Services in Napa & Solano Counties." Date: October 26, 2001. Location: Fairfield, CA. (707) 644-6612, Rlcrown@napanet.net

  • Janine Hasey, UC Cooperative Extension Sutter-Yuba Counties, $1,280. "Certified Organic Tree Crops: Transition, Growing Practices & Markets." Date/Location: TBA. (530) 822-7515, Jkhasey@ucdavis.edu

    (530) 822-7515
  • Steve Schwartz, California FarmLink, $1,500. "Business Planning & Innovative Financing Strategies to Promote Intergenerational Farm Transitions." Date/Location: TBA. (916) 443-4225, Info@californiafarmlink.org

    (916) 443-4225
  • Jennifer Baumbach, University of California Cooperative Extension Solano County, $1,500. "Solano County Jr. Master Gardener Educator Training." Date: October 6, 2001. Location: Fairfield, CA. (707) 435-2803, Jmbaumbach@ucdavis.edu

    (707) 435-2803
  • Miguel Altieri, ESPM-Division of Insect Biology, $1,450. "Community Gardening & Seed Saving Workshop." Date: late August 2001. Location: Berkeley, CA. (510) 642-9802,  Agroeco3@nature.berkely.edu

    (510) 642-9802

Agroforestry (supported from a special donor-directed fund established through a grant from the International Tree Crops Institute USA Inc.)

  • Stephanie Larson, University of California Cooperative Extension Sonoma County, $1,500. "Designing Riparian Buffers for Rangelands to be used for Addressing TMDLs & Water Quality Issues in Sonoma & Marin Counties." Dates/Location: 3 meetings TBA (707) 565-2621, Slarson@ucdavis.edu

    (707) 565-2621
  • Vance Howard, Yolo County Resource Conservation District, $4,290. "Bringing Farm Edges Back to Life!" (2 Field Meetings); "Conservation Practices for Sustainable Agriculture & Riparian Buffer Strip Creation/Restoration," (2 meetings). Dates: TBA. Location: Yolo County. (530)662-2037, Howard@yolorcd.ca.gov

    (530) 662-2037