About the Award

The Eric Bradford & Charlie Rominger Agricultural Sustainability Leadership Award

Charlie Rominger
Charlie Rominger
Eric Bradford
Eric Bradford

Established in 2008 through gifts from family and friends, the Eric Bradford and Charlie Rominger Agricultural Sustainability Leadership Award seeks to provide a lasting legacy of the unique contributions Eric Bradford and Charlie Rominger made in academia and agriculture and to the field of agricultural sustainability. The intent of the Award is to recognize and honor individuals exhibiting the leadership, work ethic and integrity epitomized by Eric and Charlie. Awardees demonstrate leadership with a passion for service as they aim to improve the world through their contributions to agriculture.

This year's award recipient is Mary Bianchi


Mary Bianchi has worked for UC Cooperative Extension for 28 years, currently serving as Farm Advisor and County Director for San Luis Obispo and northern Santa Barbara counties. 



Click here to learn more about the characteristics of Charlie and Eric that this award seeks to recognize in others.

Nominate a leader in sustainable agriculture

Nominations are welcome for UC farm advisors and Cooperative Extension specialists as well as UC Davis graduate students, faculty members, and in special cases, alumni, for their work toward agricultural sustainability. Award recipients will receive a cash prize and may be invited to give a lecture sponsored by the Agricultural Sustainability Institute at UC Davis which manages the Award and selection process. The 2014 nomination process will be announced soon.

To contribute to the endowed fund, please contact Melissa Haworth, Director of Development at (530) 979-1440 or mdhaworth@ucdavis.edu or simply mail your contribution to: Melissa Haworth, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Dean’s Office, One Shields Ave, Davis, CA 95616 and note that it is for the Bradford-Rominger award.

Learn more about past Bradford-Rominger award recipients

Rose Hayden-Smith, recipient of the 2013 Bradford-Rominger Agricultural Sustainability Leadership Award

Dr. Kenneth Tate, recipient of the 2012 Bradford-Rominger Agricultural Sustainability Leadership Award

Dr. Kelly Garbach, the inaugural recipient of the Bradford-Rominger award